Blog 3: Ethics and Issues

When downloading apps I am usually wary of the agreements I am making.  Most of the time, the app asks for permission to access and use my personal information.  Sometimes it explains what the information will be used for, but sometimes it does not.  When asked, I usually agree, depending of course on what information the app wants and how it intends to use it.  For example, when a GPS app asks to use my location, I know that it needs my location to function properly and give me the information that I need.  However, when an app does not ask my permission, I usually do not question anything.

The police should be allowed to track GPS data.  I understand the concern that people have when it comes to allowing anyone at all to have their location.  My family uses an app that tracks each family member’s phone’s location so that we know where everyone is and we can find a phone if it is lost.  The idea makes me a bit uncomfortable because if someone else could access the app, then they would have all of our locations.  However, when it comes to police, GPS tracking allows them to find criminals and lost persons.  As long as the information is protected, then it is beneficial for police to have access to GPS data.

I would not use apps that post my location.  There is too much risk involved in an app that shares location with others.  I may lose track of the people I am connected with on the app or profile and accidentally allow someone dangerous to know my location.  People can create fake accounts posing as friends to learn one’s location and find them.  Also, there are many people on my social media accounts who I know personally but would not want knowing my location.  Personally, I do not like being approached in public by anyone, strangers or friends.  Miscommunication could lead someone to believe that they are emotionally close enough to me that I would want to be approached by them in public.  These apps are a threat to people’s safety and personal relationships.

Leave a Reply

